Posted in meal planning, menus, recipe, Recipes

Kitchen Sink Weekly #11 & 12

Hey guys! Told you I’d be back!

I’ve got double the recipes but no grocery list as I’m sure you’ll be choosier than normal with what you do and don’t want and it will be easier for you to just pick and write your own than to try and wade through a big ole list. You’ll also notice I don’t have pictures here. I decided to exclude them on the blog post to keep the load time down – especially on mobile – but they are still on the recipes themselves if you click through ūüôā¬†

Bear in mind that this is three weeks of¬†recipes for us, sometimes with days between each one. Also, I’ve been using up some ingredients that have been hanging out for a while, so I did have to try harder than usual to keep it from seeming repetitive. (Though I guess you can be the real judges of that!)

I should mention, for anyone who may have noticed, that we’ve gone back a bit to more animal protein. We found that, even after allowing a solid amount of time to adjust, we still found ourselves eating more or snacking later on the days we didn’t eat meat. Not that we aren’t still interested in light, simple, or more veggie friendly dishes (which will prove itself out in time), but it just makes more sense for us to move forward with balance in mind. That being said, I do my best to make sure we have healthier snacking options readily available on days we eat vegetarian or fish with veggies, since I know we’re more likely to find ourselves in front of the fridge again later!

Let me know what you guys think ‚̧


Summer Stew 

Hearty without feeling heavy. Smokey kielbasa, fresh zucchini, and green chiles play well together over a variety of textures.

Barbecue Turkey and Spinach Pizza 

Sweet barbecue and savory tomato sauces, well-seasoned turkey, fresh mozzarella – I can’t wait to make eat this again! ‚̧ ¬†It comes out a bit on the saucy side so, if you’re not into that, cut back the tomato by at least half.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers 

As you know, I make some variation on these a couple times a month. This is one of my favorites so far though. Spinach, feta, and lemon are my go-to flavors this summer and I can’t seem to get enough! These would be excellent with a cool salad of chopped kalamata olives and cucumber on top…

Easy Gazpacho from thekitchn.com

I haven’t made gazpacho in a long time, so when I saw this I had to try it. I thought it came out delicious, but cold soup is not for everyone! I topped mine with smoked hot paprika and fresh herbs. The Honey said that it tasted good, but the texture and the temperature just didn’t jive. I had to include it here anyway to document the first thing I’ve ever made for him that he wouldn’t eat! It took over two years – but I found something!

Turkey Taco-Burros with Cumin-Lime Rice 

A taco-burro is pretty much what it sounds like: taco ingredients inside a lil burrito. I made these with green chili and white bean turkey filling and used heirloom red rice. Some people don’t like rice in their taco-burros, but we just put everything in there. Garnish with your favorite taco-toppings and you’re good to go.

Salmon Over Linguine Alfredo 

I know this violates the fish and dairy rule, but it was so yum! I like to think that a delicately flavored white sauce would be an exception because one doesn’t overpower the other… But what do I know?

Simple Italian Sausage Marinara 

Not much more can be said. This was one of the laziest sauces I’ve made in a long time, but also among the best tasting. We had it over whole wheat linguine and the leftovers ended up on the spaghetti squash below.

Sweet Potato and Sausage Skillet with Brussels Sprouts 

Getting a good char on the brussels sprouts is essential to this dish. Otherwise, it’s pretty darn easy – and quick!

Chipotle Red Rice with Chicken 

Honestly one of my favorite dishes of all time is arroz con pollo – which literally means rice with chicken. Normally it would be seasoned like mexican red rice – with tomato sauce, cumin, garlic, and onion. But I swapped the tomato sauce in this version for a pureed can of chipotle chiles in adobo, so if you’re a fan of the signature smokey spiciness that comes from chipotle, this is definitely worth a try. However, if you aren’t into spicy food, just substitute with a small can of tomato sauce and save yourself the trouble of pureeing the chiles.

Salmon over Roasted Potatoes and Spinach 

Simple and yummy. The fish is seasoned here with steak seasoning, which pairs perfectly with the hearty garlic flavoring the spinach and potatoes.

Smoked Turkey Sausage and Peppers 

You probably don’t need a recipe for this… But here you go. It was a last minute decision for us so we didn’t have any sides, but I’d suggest a light salad, steamed green beans, or sweet potato fries.

Roasted Garlic Spaghetti Squash 

You ever have that why-don’t-we-have-this-more-often feeling when you taste something you haven’t made in a while? I had that with this. It came out not exactly like I expected, but better. The nutty flavor of the squash and the sweetness of the garlic roasted inside it is a match made in heaven!
It takes a bit of time, but the trade-off is that it’s only three ingredients. Top it with something light – but not too saucy. The squash will soak up extra sauce and turn to mush, and no one wants that. ¬†My suggestions include a chunky pasta sauce or a light mix of roasted or steamed vegetables.

Enjoy!

‚̧

Leave a Reply

