Posted in meal planning, Recipes

Kitchen Sink Weekly #8

Between my better half being away for most of the weekend, and the fact that I made the normal amount of food anyway, we had leftovers three times last week. Everything came out so good – and all but the meatloaf, which was super tender, were done in under an hour so yay all around!

Here’s your grocery list to print, or copy and paste into Google Keep.
Cooking oils, salt, and pepper have been removed. I use Himalayan pink salt (tastes saltier, so I use less) and black pepper, both in grinders. And we go with extra virgin olive oil for general use, and safflower oil for a high smoke point (when cooking at higher temperatures) or lighter flavor. Canola and vegetable oil are both suitable stand-ins for safflower if you have them on hand instead.

And off we go!


turkey_meatloaf_bbq

Tender Turkey Meatloaf and Baked Bean Stuffed Tomatoes 

I had a 3 lb package of ground turkey chilling in my refrigerator for almost the entire preceding week. So, instead of freezing it, I decided to cook it all. I made two big pieces, and they came out so tender and flavorful that we didn’t even add a sauce on the side.


fish_salmon_balsamic

Salmon with Balsamic Reduction over Lemony Millet Salad

I basically made this salmon the same way as last week except, instead of going super savory on the brine, I went sweet with reduced balsamic vinegar. It was delicious, to say the least, the reduced balsamic highlighting the natural sweetness of the fish itself. And on top of the refreshing lemony salad? My mouth is watering and I want to make it again already.


skillet_citrus_beef_zucchini

Summer Skillet with Beef and Zucchini 

A one pot wonder. Tossed while warm in a light herb and lemon vinaigrette, it’s both hearty and refreshing.


chili_chix_whitebean

Simple Chicken and White Bean Chili

I didn’t have pre-cooked chicken or broth so I boiled some chicken breast with granulated garlic and onion plus a jalapeno with some holes poked in it for flavor. Then I removed the chicken but let the broth continue to reduce until it was the amount I needed and just shredded the chicken before adding it back in. This was incredibly flavorful, if not a tiny bit salty, for its short ingredient list.
I also added some of this jalapeno sauce to mine for a little extra kick.  But also because I haven’t been able to stop eating it since I bought it (seriously I’m not kidding please send help). My shocked Honey can confirm: I have eaten almost an entire bottle by myself in less than two weeks.
Oh – If you’re not a fan of cilantro, add a healthy dose of fresh chopped green onion instead.


That’s about it for now.

Enjoy, everyone!

One thought on “Kitchen Sink Weekly #8

Leave a Reply

