Posted in KSW Weekly, meal planning, Recipes

Kitchen Sink Weekly #7

This week I went searching for inspiration, tried some new things, and have ultimately added some excellent twists on old favorites. I hope you enjoy!

“You’ll never know everything about anything, especially something you love.”
― Julia Child

First, here’s the Grocery List for you to print, clone, or copy and paste into Google Keep. As usual, I’ve starred the categories to make it a little bit easier on the eyes. I’ve also removed salt, pepper, and cooking oils because they get redundant quickly so remember to add them if you’re running low. You should have at least two types of oil on hand, one like olive oil with a low smoke point for general use, and one light flavored with a high smoke point like safflower or canola for higher heat use. In addition, I also have both olive and canola oil sprays.


bowl_quinoa_blackbean

Quinoa Bowls with Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Black Beans 

This would be a great one for a week of meal prep as you could roast different kinds of potatoes on the same sheet pan (maybe throw in some zucchini or yellow squash, too) and season one batch of quinoa in several different ways. If you’re trying to ease into making your own lunches ahead of time, this would be a good template to start with. It’s easy to imagine strips of grilled chicken or blackened fish over the top as well.


ribs_slowcooked

Simple Slow-Cooked Ribs and Buffalo Cauliflower 

The frozen ribs flew from their place near the back of the freezer to the floor with a loud crack when I opened the door to check in for my weekly planning and grocery list routine, so clearly we were due for a rib day. Oddly enough, my Dad an hour away, and my Grandmother across the country, both made their own crockpot ribs on the same day. It must have been in the air. I didn’t have any fruit in the house (it was Tuesday and Wednesday is my grocery day) so I used 1/4 cup of apricot preserves that I dissolved in the water before adding the vinegar to the marinade and they came out just as perfect and tender as always.
The cauliflower was the real experiment though. Having purchased the pre-sauced frozen version a few weeks back, I wanted to see if I could make a version with a little bit of a crisp to it so I tried this very simple “breading” and voila!


fish_salmon_broiled

Easy Broiled Salmon and Roasted Tomatoes with Garlic and Basil  with Lemon-Dill Yogurt Sauce

This is a Midweek Masterpiece. It came together in a half hour and since it was on foil-covered pans clean up was a breeze. Remember a couple of weeks ago, when I talked about using brine to reduce the albumin (white stuff) on the cooked salmon? I finally tried it (or something like it) and look how pretty that is!


stuffedpep_greek

Greek Stuffed Peppers 

Why didn’t I think of this? For the first time in a very long time, I actually followed a recipe in this case. I didn’t have kalamata olives and I don’t like sun dried tomatoes so I omitted them, but I was really trying to figure out how to use the millet I found on the bargain shelf. So hats off to EdiblePerspective on this one!
Millet has a flavor very similar to corn and a texture similar to quinoa, but with a little more of a bite in terms of texture. If you like grits or polenta or you need more gluten-free options in your life it might be worth a try. However, if you’re not into all the fancy grains the kids are eatin’ these days, or you don’t feel like shelling out for something you probably won’t use, feel free to substitute quinoa, rice, or whatever you do happen to have on hand. Just prepare it according to the package directions (don’t worry about toasting it, that’s a millet thing) and proceed from there.


chix_enchilada

Enchilada Chicken Skillet and Pinto Beans with Bacon and Jalapeno

Yeah yeah, back to the southwestern stuff. But what’s a gal to do with a pantry full of all this goodness? Honestly, I could eat enchilada sauce 1.) on everything, and 2.) every day. But this came out so good and mild, and it was pretty dang easy… I might not go the traditional route again for a very long time. I warmed some extra tortillas and mixed them in for good measure, but you don’t have to. And the beans were spicy. I put four jalapenos in with two cans of beans and they were amazing – I ate about a third of them before I even got to serving – but, if crushed red pepper scares you, definitely use the substitute in the recipe notes!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

