Posted in KSW Weekly, meal planning, Recipes

Kitchen Sink Weekly #6

This was one of those weeks where I changed my mind a few times. Making “healthier” options but still wanting a variety of flavors is a tough transition sometimes when you’re already eating relatively well, so I’d been using some go-to items and finding myself reaching for the same ones over and over. I’m by no means a picky eater but, when I start to feel like I’m eating the same thing every day, I get bored and then I don’t really feel like cooking. So I changed it up a bit mid-week.

Grocery List Here  

Ingredients for the spaghetti sauce are on this list, as is spaghetti sauce so you won’t forget, so just make your decision and don’t get one or the other. Or do, they’re usually things I have on hand anyway.


IMG_20170515_181523

Turkey Meatball Skillet over Veggie Linguine 

This came out really good, guys. It’s a little more work than just tossing frozen meatballs into sauce and waiting for them to defrost – which is by no means a dig because I love those things – but it’s 100% worth it. They were lean but tender and very flavorful. We had them over Ronzoni Veggie Delight Linguine because that’s what I had on hand. There is a spaghetti sauce recipe attached, but you can certainly use whichever is your favorite. I omitted the sour cream from the sauce since I was making it for this recipe and I also used half the oil and cheese, just to cut fat wherever I could.


IMG_20170516_180657

Sweet and Spicy Asian Chicken over Steamed Veggies 

This was the biggest overall change, completely from one cuisine to another as it was originally supposed to be something akin to a southwest chicken bowl. But going through my pantry and freezer I found I’d had these two bags of veggies for quite some time and should probably use them ASAP. I’m always on the lookout for an excuse to eat soy sauce and sriracha so I took my chance and ran with it. If you’re not into spicy food, substitute teriyaki sauce for the sriracha.


IMG_20170517_182011

Breakfast for Dinner: Potato, Sausage, and Spinach Skillet with Eggs 

This little egg came apart right before I took the picture. It was still very tasty though. I think next time I may make the eggs separately so I can save the potatoes and sausage more easily. Otherwise so easy and delicious.


IMG_20170518_185711

Flatbread and Hummus with Fresh Veggies and Savory Tapenade 

I’ve been using Bush’s “Hummus Made Easy” mixes to make hummus at home with no-salt-added garbanzo beans (chickpeas). An eight-ounce package of hummus for four bucks just isn’t enough value for me when I can make about sixteen ounces at a time for an average of three dollars instead. Obviously just use your favorite flavor for this recipe. If you want to try a relatively easy way to make your own, Hummus Made Easy can be found near the canned beans in your grocery store. I usually don’t rinse the beans. I drain them, saving the juice in a measuring cup, this way I can add a little back in if the hummus is too thick. They have several varieties, one says it’s for black beans, but I use them all on chickpeas and they are very tasty.


Friday we had a little Leftover Roundup: I had made a double batch of flatbread because I love that recipe and wanted to have a few on hand, so instead of having subs as planned, we ended up piling leftover meatballs onto the flatbread.

Saturday was wine and cheese night, of course (but the crackers are gluten free! 😛 ) Then, Sunday, we had a surprisingly low-calorie frozen pizza and I threw together a simple salad with fresh greens and an apple cider vinaigrette.  The vinaigrette was 2 tablespoons each Apple Cider Vinegar and Safflower Oil, 1/2 teaspoon each Maple Syrup and Dijon Mustard, and then just salt and cracked black pepper to taste.

That’s about it for this one, guys. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

