Posted in meal planning, recipe

Herb and Orange Pollock

IMG_20170413_185412

For some reason, the idea of a “happy accident” comes to mind with this recipe. But it was most certainly not an accident. I had these fillets all seasoned up and ready to go and I thought to myself that I’d had that lime sitting on the counter for a while and maybe I should slice that up and put it on top… But pollock, being related to cod, has a much sweeter, almost buttery, natural flavor… So maybe the orange instead… After a quick consult with my Dad, my decision was made. The orange was so juicy when I sliced into it that I almost thought it a shame and ate it instead, but no regrets, this recipe is definitely one for the books.

IMG_20170413_190531

I got my fish frozen at a buy-one-get-two sale(!), but if you can’t find pollock you could certainly use cod or haddock. Also keep in mind that it tends to shrink quite a bit, so make more than you think you’ll need, the tray pictured made about four sensibly sized portions.

Ingredients:

  • Olive Oil – I used a sprayable but you could probably skip it all together if you want
  • 2 lbs Pollock Fillets – Thawed
  • About 2 Tablespoons Old Bay Seasoning (less sodium version)
  • About 2 Tablespoons Herbes de Provence
  • 1 Large Orange

Directions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Line a baking sheet with foil and spray with olive oil. Be sure to use a pan or sheet that has edges, as this fish tends to release quite a bit of water during cooking.
  2. Lay the fillets out on the baking sheet in a single layer and spray lightly with olive oil.
  3. Sprinkle the fish with Old bay and Herbes de Provence.
  4. Slice the orange into 1/4 inch rounds and lay them on top of the seasoned fillets. If you have long fillets (I had a mix) make a slit in the orange rounds from the center to one edge, twist and stretch them across the fish.
  5. Cover with foil and rest about 5 minutes.
  6. Bake 5 minutes covered, carefully remove the foil top (there will be a lot of juices in the pan), and bake 10 minutes uncovered. I broiled mine for 3 minutes afterward to get a little bit of a crisp on top, but you don’t have to.
  7. Serve over baby greens and enjoy!

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

