Posted in Leftover Roundup, meal planning, recipe

Leftover Roundup: Rice Pudding 

As I mentioned, we have a ton of leftovers from Chinese food over the weekend. We had leftovers last night for dinner but we still have 2 small containers of white rice and half of a big container of lo mein. The lo mein will get eaten, I’m not worried about that, but that’s a lot of white rice just sitting there drying out. Gross.

Going through my fridge this morning I also noticed our open container of milk had expired 2 days ago on the 13th. It still smelled okay, but probably not for long. Thus, I suddenly found myself with a perfect excuse to make one of my favorite comfort foods: rice pudding. I have a decent sized container of half and half that will expire if I don’t start making an effort with it soon, so I pulled that out, too. 

leftover_roundup_ricepudding

I also gathered:

  • Ground cinnamon
  • Apple pie spice (pumpkin pie spice would have been awesome, too)
  • Vanilla extract
  • Granulated sugar
  • Cornstarch – just in case.

Here’s how I put it together:

  • In a saucepan over medium heat, combine the rice and enough milk/half and half to just cover it, you want about equal parts. Simmer, stirring often, until it thickens – about 15 minutes.
  • Add, cinnamon, apple pie spice, vanilla extract, and sugar to taste. I probably added 1/4 teaspoon each of the cinnamon and apple pie spice, 1 Tablespoon of vanilla extract, and 1/2 Cup of sugar for this amount of rice. But that’s all up to your taste buds. I like mine a little less sweet and a little more vanilla-ish tasting. A dash of salt might be good (to highlight the sweetness by contrast) as well.
    Honey would be a delicious substitute for sugar, and you could definitely use any kind of milk you have around, like coconut milk or almond milk, if you’re not into lactose.
  • I ended up adding about 2 Tablespoons of cornstarch because I like my pudding on the thick side and I had used a little extra liquid. But that’s it!

A simple homey dessert or a nice break from traditional breakfasts, and gentle on sensitive tummies. Serve with a dollop of whipped cream and a dash of cinnamon. Or not. You do you.

Sunday Prep? Kinda. 
This keeps about 4 to 5 days refrigerated in an airtight container. You could certainly make it ahead of time. That said: This recipe lends itself to leftover rice so it’s more of a back pocket recipe I keep around for when I make white rice for something else (Teriyaki Venison, maybe?). If I were going to make rice pudding from scratch for a crowd I’d probably do it more traditionally, which is just a little different.

 

Leave a Reply

